Billing - Currencies

Created by Sagecom Support, Modified on Sat, 05 Aug 2023 at 03:26 AM by Sagecom Support


PortaBilling® allows simultaneous use of multiple currencies. On this page, you can add currencies you want to work with. 

How to add a currency
  1. Click Add on the toolbar.
  2. Choose a desired currency from the list. If the currency you require is not listed, contact your service provider. 
  3. Choose either a payment system that will process payments in this currency or a remittance payment system that will transfer funds in this currency. Note that one currency entry can be assigned to a payment or remittance system or to neither of those options.
  4. Click Save Edit.





ISO 4217



Official three-letter currency code (e.g. USD).


Numeric currency code according to ISO standard.


Commonly used name of the currency.

Dec. digits

Maximum number of decimal places allowed by the currency,  e.g. for US dollars or euros it will be 2, since the smallest unit is one cent (0.01), while for yen it will be 0, because an amount in yens can only be a whole integer.


The main currency unit, e.g. dollar.


The lesser currency unit (if applicable), e.g. cent.

Payment System

Selects an online payment processor to process payments in this currency.

Remittance Payment System

Defines a payment remittance system. Select the corresponding payment remittance system to allow your customers who maintain their balances in this currency to transfer funds from their accounts in PortaSwitch to a mobile phone’s balance in another country.




Note that one currency entry can be assigned to a payment or remittance system or to neither of those options.

Payment Method

Read-only column; lists all available payment methods (e.g. VISA) for the selected payment system.

Minimum Payment

The smallest allowed amount for an online payment (in the corresponding currency), in order to prevent service abuse.



The ISO 4217 currency code is normally composed of a country’s two-character  ISO 3166 country code plus an extra character denoting the currency unit.  For example, the code for Canadian Dollars is simply Canada’s two-character  ISO 3166 code (“CA”) plus a one-character currency designator (“D”). Currency unit names (major and minor) are not defined in ISO 4217, and are listed  in the table only for user convenience. Visit BSI  Currency Code Service (ISO 4217 Maintenance Agency) website for more information.


Was this article helpful?

That’s Great!

Thank you for your feedback

Sorry! We couldn't be helpful

Thank you for your feedback

Let us know how can we improve this article!

Select atleast one of the reasons
CAPTCHA verification is required.

Feedback sent

We appreciate your effort and will try to fix the article